This Wednesday I’m Waiting On…

Solitaire Alice Oseman
Solitaire by Alice Oseman
Young Adult
Hardcover, 368 pages
To be published March 31, 2015 by HarperCollins

Here’s the synopsis via Goodreads: 

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers. 
Here’s a description from Epic Reads:

My name is Victoria Spring.
Sometimes I hate people.
This is probably very bad for my mental health.
Tori has friends. She has brothers. She has parents. Sometimes she can be bothered to talk to them. Most of the time, though, she would prefer not to have to deal with other people.
Until the day she follows a trail of Post-its from her locker to a deserted computer lab, where she finds a message from a mysterious group called Solitaire. It’s also where she meets Michael Holden. Irrepressibly cheerful, weird, and determined to be her friend, Michael is everything Tori normally hates.
And that’s it. That’s where it starts.
Soon Solitaire has launched a series of pranks across the school. For once, Tori feels connected, like someone is on her wavelength—making jokes about her favorite movies, blasting her favorite song on repeat over the intercom. Then Solitaire’s pranks start to go too far, and no one else seems to be concerned. Tori doesn’t like getting involved. But this time, the idea of doing nothing is even worse.
Solitaire is a novel about finding friends, finding yourself, and discovering that one person can change everything.


This book has been described as “The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age.” That description alone has me curious! Not to mention that synopsis! Tori sounds a little like me. I’m super interested to see how the story goes from there and what Tori is like a character! I wouldn’t say I’m a fan of John Green or Rainbow Rowell (haven’t really read any of there stuff) but this book still sounds right up my alley! 
What are you waiting on this Wednesday? 



“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly meme  hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating!